Why am I doing this?

As I begin this journey I guess I need to go back and tell you how I got here…

I’ve always worked, always.  Even back to the days of high school when I worked during the summer getting $2.35/hour.  Even as I was getting my Masters degree I worked.  I don’t have a “corporate” job, but I am a successful professional in the human resource field.  I make a good amount of money and I enjoy what I do.  But, both of my children have always been in daycare. My heart would sink (it still does) when they ask, “can you pick me up after school?”  I long for dropping my kids off at school in my PJs, and picking them up at the end of the day after I’ve had 6 hours to run errands, walk the dogs, cook, and, yes, maybe sneak in an episode of “The Chew”.  Okay, and maybe an hour or so at Target…  🙂

Two summers ago my husband wanted to start a garden.  One thing about my husband… when he gets an idea in his head it takes off at mach speed.  I envisioned a small garden box, some veggies here and there.  His vision… six huge garden boxes throughout our yard.  And I’ll never forget the day we had a massive truck load of compost from the local dairy farmer delivered.  “Dumped” right smack in our driveway.  Oh, yes, the dogs loved it.  My small garden morphed in to something that truly needed daily attention.  And daily attention it got.  As a result, I fell in love with my trips out to the garden, searching for what I could harvest.  There was nothing more relaxing than walking through our garden and seeing all that we produced.

As another summer passed I found myself longing to do more in the garden, more on our land, but having little time.  Oh- and did I tell you that I’m a military wife?  So there are many times when it’s just the kids and I (and the dogs), leaving even less time that I can spend doing the things I love.  If only I could be at home full-time and pursue those passions.  Passions that not only benefit me, but benefit my family, my community, my state.

Enter twenty-twelve and the pursuit of this dream…

About Diary of a Wanna Be Homesteader...

Call me the black sheep of the family. I’m a 30-something (pushing 40) socially inept gal living in the beautiful state of Maine, mother of two rambunctious children, to include two dogs with a combined weight of 300 lbs. I met my husband, self-professed anti-social media mogul, in Japan. We met in November 1998, married in May 1999… happily ever after. After much exploration, and two children later, we settled in Maine to raise our family away from the hassles of city life. Surrounded by trees and clean air we’ve built a spectacular life on 3 acres. Folks may call us anti-social… we like to call ourselves pr0-self. We value each other, our family and our passions in life more than pleasing others. I buy milk in glass bottles. I drive a Prius. I am a weather junkie. I must drink a cup of coffee daily. I believe in buying local. I love knitting but don’t do it often enough. Sunflowers make me happy. Fishing calms my soul. This blog is about my love of a simpler life… family, love, gardening, nature, independence. This is the place where I will share it, and begin my journey to obtain that life, one step at a time.

Leave a Reply

