My truth about coupons…

Six months ago I came up with the brilliant idea to subscribe to the local Sunday paper.  I don’t care to read the articles much, although I do find myself reading the obituaries, every single one.  Isn’t that what old people do?  Ugh…  Anyway, back on track… I subscribed to the Sunday paper for the coupons.  Yes, coupons.  The very thought of coupons in my newspaper gives me shivers.  🙂  Every Sunday my kids yell, “Mom, the newspaper!  Your coupons are here!” It’s beautiful that the kids know exactly what turns me on!

So every Sunday morning I sit at my kitchen table, sip my pungently strong coffee and clip coupons.  Each snip of the scissor rings a “cha-ching” in  my ear.  But is that a “cha-ching” of saving, or a “cha-ching” of spending?

The idea of coupons are wonderful.  But I often find myself purchasing an item just because I have a coupon.  For example, two weeks ago I purchased a package of “Boogie Wipes”.  With my runny nose children and $.50 coupon in tow, I trekked over to Rite Aid and bought that package of Boogie Wipes.  Now did I really need to buy that package?  No, I certainly did not.  My 5-year old and 9-year old are perfectly capable of grabbing tissue, toilet paper, paper towels, towels, anything to wipe their noses.  Shoot, using the sleeve of their shirt would do.  Purchasing Boogie Wipes did not make my children wipe their noses faster, nor did it ease the drainage any faster.  So, in the end, I spent $3.50 for something I truly didn’t need. I didn’t save.  I spent.  Cha-ching.

My pledge going in to twenty-twelve is to coupon clip wisely.  I will still wake up every Sunday morning like a kid on Christmas, eagerly awaiting the newspaper delivery man (or woman, or kid) to throw that bound up stack of paper in my driveway.  I will still clip every coupon I see.  However, this time I will only save those that I use.  No more coupons for ridiculous wipes, chicken sausage I don’t eat, or old spice body wash my husband would never, ever use.

There are many places where you can donate your unused coupons.  My son’s daycare has a basket where you can drop off coupons.  You can start coupon exchange clubs or even set up your own basket at work or local grocery store.  Many grocery stores have a place dedicated just for coupon swapping.  My choice, however, is to send my coupons to Coups For Troops.

Coups for Troops was created by a stay-at-home mom, trying to save money for her family by couponing.  Being a strong supporter of the US military, she wanted to assist those that serve.  I want to do the same.  I am, by the way, a military wife, and a military brat.  The idea is to help make the lives of soldiers and their families a little easier by shipping coupons right to their door. And did you know that commissaries overseas accept manufacturer coupons up to six months past expiration?  Yes, they sure do.  If you are interested check out the Coups for Troops website at http://www.coupsfortroops.com/

Another step forward and paying it forward…  Cha-ching!

About Diary of a Wanna Be Homesteader...

Call me the black sheep of the family. I’m a 30-something (pushing 40) socially inept gal living in the beautiful state of Maine, mother of two rambunctious children, to include two dogs with a combined weight of 300 lbs. I met my husband, self-professed anti-social media mogul, in Japan. We met in November 1998, married in May 1999… happily ever after. After much exploration, and two children later, we settled in Maine to raise our family away from the hassles of city life. Surrounded by trees and clean air we’ve built a spectacular life on 3 acres. Folks may call us anti-social… we like to call ourselves pr0-self. We value each other, our family and our passions in life more than pleasing others. I buy milk in glass bottles. I drive a Prius. I am a weather junkie. I must drink a cup of coffee daily. I believe in buying local. I love knitting but don’t do it often enough. Sunflowers make me happy. Fishing calms my soul. This blog is about my love of a simpler life… family, love, gardening, nature, independence. This is the place where I will share it, and begin my journey to obtain that life, one step at a time.

Leave a Reply

