My Morning Cup of Joe…

It’s early and it’s cold outside.  The sun hasn’t risen yet.  The kids are still asleep.  I sneak downstairs and begin brewing my lifeline.  Coffee.

I’m a coffee snob.  A REAL snob.

As I begin my journey one of the topics I’ll constantly remind myself of is saving money.  Save money, pay off debt, stay home, start homestead.    But as much as I know the importance of saving, I cannot sacrifice my coffee.  In the past I’ve tried.  I’ve switched to Folgers, generic brands, Chock full o’Nuts.  It just didn’t work out.  Coffee is a staple in my life.

Starbucks and Dunkin’ Donuts Dark has been my choice of brew for many years.  I’ve gotten savvy with sales and coupons, but still pay anywhere from 7 to 9 dollars a bag for one pound of coffee.

A few weeks ago I found a local coffee company that roasts it’s own beans, Coffee by Design.  They were recently rated one of the top ten coolest independent coffee shops in the United States.  Their coffee is 16 dollars for a 16-ounce bag.  Ouch.  But so worth it.  And the price is very comparable to buying Starbucks or Dunkin’ Donuts.

I think of it this way… I brew my own coffee.  And by brew I mean the old fashion way, percolator style.  Every day I wake up and make my coffee.  It takes less than two minutes to do.  As it brews I get breakfast together, feed the dogs, wake up the kids. And guess what? The coffee grounds make excellent fertilizer for your garden, it’s great for your houseplants, and you can even use the grounds to scrub your cast iron pots and pans.

Although I spend a lot for a bag of coffee, I am doing something I feel very passionate about, supporting a local company.  It’s still much cheaper than buying a cup of coffee everyday at 4 dollars a cup (minimum)  Even if I use 2 – 3 bags of coffee a month, it still doesn’t compare to the 80 dollars a month I’d spend if I bought a cup a day.

As my son says, “When you don’t drink coffee you turn to bad mama”  I guess I’m not just a snob, but addicted…  yikes…

About Diary of a Wanna Be Homesteader...

Call me the black sheep of the family. I’m a 30-something (pushing 40) socially inept gal living in the beautiful state of Maine, mother of two rambunctious children, to include two dogs with a combined weight of 300 lbs. I met my husband, self-professed anti-social media mogul, in Japan. We met in November 1998, married in May 1999… happily ever after. After much exploration, and two children later, we settled in Maine to raise our family away from the hassles of city life. Surrounded by trees and clean air we’ve built a spectacular life on 3 acres. Folks may call us anti-social… we like to call ourselves pr0-self. We value each other, our family and our passions in life more than pleasing others. I buy milk in glass bottles. I drive a Prius. I am a weather junkie. I must drink a cup of coffee daily. I believe in buying local. I love knitting but don’t do it often enough. Sunflowers make me happy. Fishing calms my soul. This blog is about my love of a simpler life… family, love, gardening, nature, independence. This is the place where I will share it, and begin my journey to obtain that life, one step at a time.

2 responses to “My Morning Cup of Joe…

  1. I am right there with ya on the coffee! That is one part of the budget that is not open to negotiation. Gotta have the good stuff. Thankfully we’re getting some good locally roasted coffee from a microroaster in Seattle thanks to the boyfriend bartering his lawn mowing and photography services in exchange for freshly roasted coffee. I even bring my coffee to work because the coffee they serve at the office sucks 🙂

  2. DMd

    I never thought of myself as a coffee snob, but as you shared what you’re thinking, I thought, those are the very same things I’ve thought (and tried) just this week, I finally pitched an almost full bag of 8-oclock coffee..(it tasted terrible) my brew of choice is starbucks french roast…I LOVE a good dark roast..I love opening the bag and smelling the beans…For Christmas, I got two small bags of beans, and used the cash I’d received on 3 larger bags ..I’m on my last bag/ just opened it this morning..wish people would pay me in coffee for my blogging.

Leave a Reply

