Nuts!

I made an amazing discovery. It will have a profound impact in my daily life.  In my 37 years of existence I have never tried this delectable spread.  Until today.  I think I have done something wonderful by introducing my children to it as well.  We are nuts for Nutella.  So, what is this hazelnut chocolate spread from Italy?

Here are the facts:

  • Nutella is a spread made of sugar, oil, milk, chocolate and hazelnuts. Also, it is awesome.
  • Nutella was made by Pietro Ferrero, an Italian Confectioner responsible for Ferrero Rocher, Tic Tacs, and other sweets, like an Italian Willy Wonka.
  • There are many uses for Nutella, mostly revolving around eating.
  • It combines the thrill of chocolate with the excitement of hazelnuts, and is over 50% sugar.

50% sugar!  No wonder why my kids love it so much.  And I thought I was doing a worldly good deed by purchasing this product.  Nutella and toast, nutella and strawberries, nutella and pumpkin muffins, nutella on a spoon… nutella making my kids have a sugar high and driving me nutella!

However, I cannot go back.  Once you try Nutella you can no longer block it from your mind.  It consumes you.  That jar sitting on the counter, calling your name… “just a little taste”…

Moderation.  Moderation is key.  Yes, I have a coupon I just printed online, $1 off two jars.  But I will purchase small jars.  Moderation.  I can do this.  We can do this.

Mark your calendar:  February 5th is World Nutella Day.  Really.

About Diary of a Wanna Be Homesteader...

Call me the black sheep of the family. I’m a 30-something (pushing 40) socially inept gal living in the beautiful state of Maine, mother of two rambunctious children, to include two dogs with a combined weight of 300 lbs. I met my husband, self-professed anti-social media mogul, in Japan. We met in November 1998, married in May 1999… happily ever after. After much exploration, and two children later, we settled in Maine to raise our family away from the hassles of city life. Surrounded by trees and clean air we’ve built a spectacular life on 3 acres. Folks may call us anti-social… we like to call ourselves pr0-self. We value each other, our family and our passions in life more than pleasing others. I buy milk in glass bottles. I drive a Prius. I am a weather junkie. I must drink a cup of coffee daily. I believe in buying local. I love knitting but don’t do it often enough. Sunflowers make me happy. Fishing calms my soul. This blog is about my love of a simpler life… family, love, gardening, nature, independence. This is the place where I will share it, and begin my journey to obtain that life, one step at a time.

Leave a Reply

