Here we go…

Okay, folks, here I go… Time to “put my money where my mouth is”. Time to “walk the walk”.  Or is it “talk the talk”?  Or “walk the talk”?  Well, whatever it is it’s time to get down to business.

First, let me take you back in time… A year ago I caved in and got my husband a motorcycle. A used motorcycle, but a bike nonetheless. I swore up and down I would never allow my husband to get a motorcycle. Not long after we were married I gave my husband motorcycle stickers telling him that was as close as he was going to get to a bike. Twelve years later his dream came true.

Fast forward a year and here we are talking about the other thing I swore I’d never agree to. Chickens. My husband has been nagging me about chickens for a couple of years now.  I eventually learned to tune him out, but found myself thinking more and more about these feathery creatures as I planned my journey towards homesteading.  It became a battle I fought with myself.  Just thinking about the time commitment, the cleaning, the smell.  And, yes, the worry that I will officially become “that neighbor”.

But, unlike the motorcyle, I’ve come to terms with chickens.  In fact, I’ve embraced the idea.  I am just extremely nervous.  Ugh.  Literally sick to my stomach.  If I can handle the idea of my husband on a motorcylce cruising down the interstate, I can surely handle 4 chickens in my yard.  Right…?…?…!

Over the weekend I visited my local feed store and picked up an order form for chicks.  Orders need to be placed by mid-March for pick up in April.  And starting tonight I begin my research on purchasing a chicken coop.  My hands are trembling, the tension in my shoulders building.

Maybe I should just get myself a motorcycle… better yet, a trike, and cruise away from this idea…

About Diary of a Wanna Be Homesteader...

Call me the black sheep of the family. I’m a 30-something (pushing 40) socially inept gal living in the beautiful state of Maine, mother of two rambunctious children, to include two dogs with a combined weight of 300 lbs. I met my husband, self-professed anti-social media mogul, in Japan. We met in November 1998, married in May 1999… happily ever after. After much exploration, and two children later, we settled in Maine to raise our family away from the hassles of city life. Surrounded by trees and clean air we’ve built a spectacular life on 3 acres. Folks may call us anti-social… we like to call ourselves pr0-self. We value each other, our family and our passions in life more than pleasing others. I buy milk in glass bottles. I drive a Prius. I am a weather junkie. I must drink a cup of coffee daily. I believe in buying local. I love knitting but don’t do it often enough. Sunflowers make me happy. Fishing calms my soul. This blog is about my love of a simpler life… family, love, gardening, nature, independence. This is the place where I will share it, and begin my journey to obtain that life, one step at a time.

One response to “Here we go…

  1. DM

    You sound quite a bit like my wife of 32 years…she finally gave me the go-ahead to get a bike a few years ago, and also allowed me to get a few chickens. speaking just for myself, when a wife supports her husband’s ideas/ goals/ dreams,etc. whether big things like a bike or the smaller more mundane things like getting chickens,..it says “I love you, I respect you. Guess I’m saying those are very practical ways to show your husband honor.. can’t wait to hear more about your chicken adventures 🙂 DM

Leave a Reply

