The Incredible Edible Egg…

I buy eggs.  A lot of eggs.  I sometimes buy eggs for no other reason than to just have them in the refrigerator.

Have you ever noticed that the variety of eggs in the store is like choosing what kind of  toothbrush to buy for your family.  They all brush your teeth, but you don’t know which one is best.  There are store bought generic, store bought organic, store bought free range, store bought free range organic.  Oh, and let’s not forget you have eggs with added Omega-3, added vitamins, added who knows what can be pumped in to a simple egg.  But, every once in a while, depending on the store you frequent, there are local, farm fresh eggs.  Just a simple egg.

I’ve eaten them all.  And, honestly, in the past, I never paid much attention to simple egg.  But a year or so ago I started buying farm fresh eggs whenever I could.  Or, I should say, whenever my local farm feed store carried them.   In general, yes, you do pay more.  I pay about $1.99 for store bought generic, and about $3.25 for free range organic. However, I am lucky enough that a local neighbor delivers eggs to the feed store and sells them at a very reasonable price.  Their price, $2.35 for a dozen. To this person who I do not yet know (but I will meet)… thank you.

If you look closely you may be able to find a neighbor, a friend, a friend of a friend, that sells his/her eggs fresh.  And you will probably find that price is much lower than buying them at a farmer’s market or stores like Whole Foods.  I recently trekked about my neighborhood and found three houses within 5 miles of my home that have eggs for sale.  There were no flashing neon signs, no “buy here now”,  just a simple wooden sign, “eggs for sale, knock on the door.”

If you ever try a farm fresh egg you will, I am almost sure, prefer that egg over any other.  As silly as it sounds, it just tastes better. In addition, the health benefits (so I’m told) are far superior to the processed, chlorine dunked, messed with egg.  What do you feel more comfortable with… “Sue’s eggs” that are laid just down the street or a glass encased cooler designed to keep eggs “fresh” as long as possible?  Heck, just look at the dates they put on those cartons! We just bought a batch from the store that are cCage free” that expire on March 17th. I know eggs have a long shelf life but… a month?  That doesn’t count the farm to plant time, processing time, and travel time to the store.

So, just once, give it a try.  You’ll be surprised what you find.

About Diary of a Wanna Be Homesteader...

Call me the black sheep of the family. I’m a 30-something (pushing 40) socially inept gal living in the beautiful state of Maine, mother of two rambunctious children, to include two dogs with a combined weight of 300 lbs. I met my husband, self-professed anti-social media mogul, in Japan. We met in November 1998, married in May 1999… happily ever after. After much exploration, and two children later, we settled in Maine to raise our family away from the hassles of city life. Surrounded by trees and clean air we’ve built a spectacular life on 3 acres. Folks may call us anti-social… we like to call ourselves pr0-self. We value each other, our family and our passions in life more than pleasing others. I buy milk in glass bottles. I drive a Prius. I am a weather junkie. I must drink a cup of coffee daily. I believe in buying local. I love knitting but don’t do it often enough. Sunflowers make me happy. Fishing calms my soul. This blog is about my love of a simpler life… family, love, gardening, nature, independence. This is the place where I will share it, and begin my journey to obtain that life, one step at a time.

Leave a Reply

