Breaking up is hard to do…

This is very hard for me.  I can’t believe I’m doing this.  Just know that it’s not you, it’s me.  I can’t continue on like this.  This relationship we’ve had has been hard, an emotional roller coaster ride.  I love you.  I really do.  But, in the end, I don’t think this will work for either one of us.  I cannot allow myself to fall to fall under your spell and in to your arms week after week.  You are like a like drug and I need to wean myself away from you.  Cold turkey will not do – the very fiber of my being cannot handle an immediate separation like that.

I’ll always remember the good times we had.  How I could go to you at anytime, your arms open wide, welcoming me .  There was no judgment, no prejudice.  No matter how I looked, or what my intentions, you accepted me for who I was.  You still do.  But, unfortunately, I must move on.  I must find a way to live my life without you there every step of the way.  I need to know that I can make it in this world without you as my vice.

Ending a relationship is always tough.  But, as they say, what doesn’t break you makes you stronger.  I will never forget you.  You’ll always have a place in my heart.  I hope we can still be friends.  I’m so sorry.

So, I say to you, Target, the only retail store that has captured my soul, good-bye.  I’d still like to keep in touch with you.  Perhaps a get together every other weekend, and then every month.  This should ease the pain for us both, slowly.  My heart is sinking even as I write this.  Please don’t ever forget me.

Sayonara

About Diary of a Wanna Be Homesteader...

Call me the black sheep of the family. I’m a 30-something (pushing 40) socially inept gal living in the beautiful state of Maine, mother of two rambunctious children, to include two dogs with a combined weight of 300 lbs. I met my husband, self-professed anti-social media mogul, in Japan. We met in November 1998, married in May 1999… happily ever after. After much exploration, and two children later, we settled in Maine to raise our family away from the hassles of city life. Surrounded by trees and clean air we’ve built a spectacular life on 3 acres. Folks may call us anti-social… we like to call ourselves pr0-self. We value each other, our family and our passions in life more than pleasing others. I buy milk in glass bottles. I drive a Prius. I am a weather junkie. I must drink a cup of coffee daily. I believe in buying local. I love knitting but don’t do it often enough. Sunflowers make me happy. Fishing calms my soul. This blog is about my love of a simpler life… family, love, gardening, nature, independence. This is the place where I will share it, and begin my journey to obtain that life, one step at a time.

One response to “Breaking up is hard to do…

  1. You are so strong. I’m not sure could go through with it. But I feel the same way often. It doesn’t help that there is one within walking distance of my house. Well done!

Leave a Reply

