Life lessons…

Last weekend my children insisted they wanted a fish.  The topic of a fish has been a longstanding issue in my house with my daughter.  However, this time she recruited her little brother.  The nagging was so intense that I eventually caved.  Yes, bad parent, I know.  The agreement was that the cost of the supplies and the fish would come from their allowance.  Both understood, even after I explained a thousand reasons why I thought this was a bad idea.  Besides, they have two gigantic dogs.  What more could they want?

$70 dollars later (which resulted in me forking over $35 of my own money) my children had what they needed for one beta fish, about the size of my pinky finger.  We rushed home and got the fish bowl together, the fake plants, and even the “no fishing” sign set up.  The heater was put in so the temperature would be just right.

I must say the fish was very well cared for.  Or perhaps I should say my son took good care of Kate (the fish).  My daughter soon tired of the fish… maybe she realized it was incapable of long walks in the park, or cuddles on the couch.  My son would wake everyday feeding this vibrant pink and purple fish.  Sometimes I’d find him talking to her.

Unfortunately, two days ago we woke up to find Kate floating at the bottom of the bowl.  My daughter screeching “ewww!”, my son just stood there baffled.  He was even a little heartbroken.  Luckily, he soon recovered and was able to say a final goodbye as Kate took a final trip down the roaring rapids of the flusher.  I thank my husband for teaching my children the natural cycle of life and death.  I don’t know why Kate died so soon.  I’m sure that there was something we neglected.  I do know, however, that my kids fully understand the concept of life and death and accept its natural process.  And understanding this process they are aware of its delicacy, its importance, and its awesomeness.

They weren’t so thrilled, however, when dad told them Kate should have went to the compost pile…

RIP Kate.

About Diary of a Wanna Be Homesteader...

Call me the black sheep of the family. I’m a 30-something (pushing 40) socially inept gal living in the beautiful state of Maine, mother of two rambunctious children, to include two dogs with a combined weight of 300 lbs. I met my husband, self-professed anti-social media mogul, in Japan. We met in November 1998, married in May 1999… happily ever after. After much exploration, and two children later, we settled in Maine to raise our family away from the hassles of city life. Surrounded by trees and clean air we’ve built a spectacular life on 3 acres. Folks may call us anti-social… we like to call ourselves pr0-self. We value each other, our family and our passions in life more than pleasing others. I buy milk in glass bottles. I drive a Prius. I am a weather junkie. I must drink a cup of coffee daily. I believe in buying local. I love knitting but don’t do it often enough. Sunflowers make me happy. Fishing calms my soul. This blog is about my love of a simpler life… family, love, gardening, nature, independence. This is the place where I will share it, and begin my journey to obtain that life, one step at a time.

One response to “Life lessons…

  1. attemptinggreen

    Hard to like that. Better luck next time.

Leave a Reply

