Can you dig it?

My kids have never been one for getting dirty.  My son had always been the worst… hated getting squirted with water, digging in dirt, and didn’t even care much for breaking a sweat.  Luckily, things have changed.  My son has embraced the outdoors.  He zips around on his scooter, totally destroying his shoes.  He loves to venture in the woods and climb the trees behind our house.  And, yes, he will even dig in the dirt.

We receive our dirt, or “super dirt” as it referred, from a dairy farm a few roads up from our house.  They take seafood waste from Maine’s working waterfront, animal bedding from local stables and farms and blend it with their cow manure.  For three months this surf ‘n turf “cooks”, microorganisms actively feeding on nitrogen and carbon, breaking the organic matter down to a humus material.  It is then blended with some loam to make the ultimate “super dirt”.

Our family’s final touch to this decadent blend of yummy nutrients is worms.  A LOT of worms.

Two years ago as I returned home from work the kids and I found a small little box on our front steps.  My husband was away at the time so I immediately thought this was another toy bought by him unbeknownst to me.  Well, turns out it was unbeknownst to me.  However, it wasn’t a toy.  It was worms.  What the #$@!?  Yuck!  I immediately wrote my husband and began to inquire what the heck this was all about.  He just said,  “trust me, we need them.”  Yeah, like I hadn’t heard that before!  It was during a time when I was just learning about gardening and homesteading, but it was already fully embraced by my husband.  Something about permaculture… yada, yada, yada.  Or course, since he was away I had to dump the worms in our garden beds.  Not something I enjoyed.  I completely agreed with my son… yuck-o!

Here I am today though!  And this year, as we ordered more super dirt from our local farmer, I took it upon myself in deciding we needed more red wrigglers.  My husband did the ordering, throwing in some vermipods, and I happily dumped these soon-to-be-rich wrigglers in our dirt and garden.

And the best part of all… seeing my children so excited when that box was sitting on our doorstep.   Like Christmas day that box was open in two seconds.  And within ten minutes those wrigglers were set free… home at last!

**A shout out to Uncle Jim’s Worm Farm… keeping my garden thumpin’ and healthy!

About Diary of a Wanna Be Homesteader...

Call me the black sheep of the family. I’m a 30-something (pushing 40) socially inept gal living in the beautiful state of Maine, mother of two rambunctious children, to include two dogs with a combined weight of 300 lbs. I met my husband, self-professed anti-social media mogul, in Japan. We met in November 1998, married in May 1999… happily ever after. After much exploration, and two children later, we settled in Maine to raise our family away from the hassles of city life. Surrounded by trees and clean air we’ve built a spectacular life on 3 acres. Folks may call us anti-social… we like to call ourselves pr0-self. We value each other, our family and our passions in life more than pleasing others. I buy milk in glass bottles. I drive a Prius. I am a weather junkie. I must drink a cup of coffee daily. I believe in buying local. I love knitting but don’t do it often enough. Sunflowers make me happy. Fishing calms my soul. This blog is about my love of a simpler life… family, love, gardening, nature, independence. This is the place where I will share it, and begin my journey to obtain that life, one step at a time.

Leave a Reply

