Field of dreams…

I’ll never forget my first summer in Maine.  Our move to the Northeast started rough, traveling right behind a major storm.  I was determined to leave our old home and so eager to start our new life.  A few months later summer arrived and it was then that I really started to fall in love with my (new) home, my (new) town, this state.

As my husband drove, the kids and I were packed in the car taking a drive to the local grocery store.  We were only a few roads up from the house when I noticed these low bushes along the road.  There was a blue tint to the bushes. One car was pulled over and a lady was hunched over picking through the bushes.  Curious, I had my husband pull over.  It was a delight to learn that they were wild blueberry bushes!

I LOVE blueberries… but I LOVE wild blueberries a million times more!

There are so many reasons why I love Maine, why I love New England.  Wild blueberry season is an absolute list topper.  If you have not tried a wild blueberry you must.  The flavor from this tiny berry can never be compared to a traditional blueberry you primarily see at the grocery store.  They are so much more flavorful, and sweeter.  Just munching on them by the handful is an absolute treat.

This is the time of the year where I will pack my blueberry rake in my backpack, walk out my front door, and head up the railroad tracks to my “secret” treasure trove.  I found this hidden gold mine  later that summer while walking my dogs to the pond by my home.  If my kids come along they will eventually gripe about the hard labor involved in picking wild blueberries.  But I’ll remind them of this when they devour every last blueberry muffin I bake.

Not only will I pick my own berries, I’ll head to the local farmers market.  In fact, I have 40 pounds of berries waiting for me this weekend!  I am so excited (yes, it’s the little things that matter).  Not only do I make muffins, but our family will make jam and freeze any berries to use throughout the winter.  Making smoothies, pancakes, sauces, dried berries, and more muffins.  Our home never has enough wild blueberries.

I can go on and on over my love of wild blueberries.  But I will stop… I don’t want anyone taking my “summer treasure”!  It all belongs to me!

About Diary of a Wanna Be Homesteader...

Call me the black sheep of the family. I’m a 30-something (pushing 40) socially inept gal living in the beautiful state of Maine, mother of two rambunctious children, to include two dogs with a combined weight of 300 lbs. I met my husband, self-professed anti-social media mogul, in Japan. We met in November 1998, married in May 1999… happily ever after. After much exploration, and two children later, we settled in Maine to raise our family away from the hassles of city life. Surrounded by trees and clean air we’ve built a spectacular life on 3 acres. Folks may call us anti-social… we like to call ourselves pr0-self. We value each other, our family and our passions in life more than pleasing others. I buy milk in glass bottles. I drive a Prius. I am a weather junkie. I must drink a cup of coffee daily. I believe in buying local. I love knitting but don’t do it often enough. Sunflowers make me happy. Fishing calms my soul. This blog is about my love of a simpler life… family, love, gardening, nature, independence. This is the place where I will share it, and begin my journey to obtain that life, one step at a time.

2 responses to “Field of dreams…

  1. This post should be an ad for summer in New England. Thanks for sharing the joy of your home state.

  2. I have to agree! Here in Maine we can and do pick wild blueberries and they tast so much better than any store berries!!

Leave a Reply

