Goodbye 2012…

Sunset ship

We have said goodbye to 2012 and entered in to a new year…

It has been three months since I’ve written on my blog…  a long time.  A lot has taken place in these past few months.  Let me bring you up to speed…

On November 17th my husband and I welcomed our third child in to this world.  We are both incredibly blessed to have her in our lives.  Not only is she a cutie but she is truly a wonderful baby.

9693_4543463417987_2002586654_n

I’ve said all along that 2012 was my year to make a change.  My goal was to work towards the ability to stay home, raise my children, and focus on building our homestead and simplifying our life.  Since I’ve been at home it has allowed me the time to really think about my goal.  Can it be done?  Are we financially able?  As a person who has always worked can I personally do this?  Will there be any regrets?  So many questions.  And the more I think about it the more I am terrified.

Not long after I created this blog I found out I was pregnant.  It was a surprise for us, and I wondered how this would change my goal for 2012.  It scared me to think that I was going to bring another life in to this world, quit my job, slice our family income by 50%, and invest more time on living a simpler lifestyle.  As terrifying as it was I trekked on and kept my focus.  Perhaps having this child was a gentle push to lead me in the direction I really wanted to go, but too nervous to pursue.

In the end, I realize the doors we open and close each day decide the lives we live.  My inspiration lies within me on the path I choose to take.  I choose to be happy.

With that said, I close the door on 2012 and open the door to 2013.  A new journey begins.

“For last year’s words belong to last year’s language and next year’s words await another voice. And to make an end is to make a beginning.” ~TS Eliot

“The constitution only guarantees the American People the right to pursue happiness.  You have to catch it yourself.”  -Benjamin Franklin

209038_10150182136606178_79979911177_6747080_3535902_o

About Diary of a Wanna Be Homesteader...

Call me the black sheep of the family. I’m a 30-something (pushing 40) socially inept gal living in the beautiful state of Maine, mother of two rambunctious children, to include two dogs with a combined weight of 300 lbs. I met my husband, self-professed anti-social media mogul, in Japan. We met in November 1998, married in May 1999… happily ever after. After much exploration, and two children later, we settled in Maine to raise our family away from the hassles of city life. Surrounded by trees and clean air we’ve built a spectacular life on 3 acres. Folks may call us anti-social… we like to call ourselves pr0-self. We value each other, our family and our passions in life more than pleasing others. I buy milk in glass bottles. I drive a Prius. I am a weather junkie. I must drink a cup of coffee daily. I believe in buying local. I love knitting but don’t do it often enough. Sunflowers make me happy. Fishing calms my soul. This blog is about my love of a simpler life… family, love, gardening, nature, independence. This is the place where I will share it, and begin my journey to obtain that life, one step at a time.

Leave a Reply

